New Deputy Lieutenants appointed for Bedfordshire


Following agreement from HM The Queen, HM Lord-Lieutenant of Bedfordshire, Helen Nellis, signed the Commissions of five new Deputy Lieutenants of the County of Bedfordshire on 1 March 2021 and an announcement was placed in The London Gazette.

The new Deputy Lieutenants are:
• Mr Ismail ANILMIS
• Dr Joan Debra BAILEY MBE
• Mr Mostaque KOYES
• Mr Arthur Julian George POLHILL
• Mrs Elizabeth Anne TOOGOOD

Deputy Lieutenants assist the Lord-Lieutenant and Vice Lord-Lieutenant in their work to support voluntary, community, statutory, civic, armed forces, business and many other aspects of county life which seek to bring kindness, opportunity and cohesion in Bedfordshire.

Commenting on the commissions, HM Lord-Lieutenant of Bedfordshire said “I am delighted to welcome five new Deputy Lieutenants to my team, all of whom bring with them their own unique qualities, skills, enthusiasm and diverse experiences.

“I am looking forward to working with my new deputies who join a Lieutenancy, themselves all volunteers, which is dedicated to supporting and shining a light on those who work so hard to make Bedfordshire such a vibrant and good-hearted county.”